Amazon Renewed vs Apple Store: which is better for refurbished Apple?

Amazon Renewed for longer returns (30 days against 14 days), cheaper iPads (from £59 against £259) and more listings (233 against 201). Apple Store is not ahead on any row we can rank today.

Prices checked 31 Oct, 3:10. Sellers pay us a commission. It never changes the order. Is RefurbMe free to use?

Neither is cheapest for iPads: eBay Refurbished starts at £45 today.

Where Amazon Renewed and Apple Store differ

Each store's own terms. A check marks the better one where we can rank it.

Amazon Renewed Apple Store

Warranty

1 year
1 yearEligible for AppleCare+

Returns

30 days
14 days

Battery

Minimum 80% battery life
Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell

Accessories

Compatible MFi Certified charger and cable. No headphones.
Every device will come with all original accessories, cables and operating systems

Shipping

FreeAll orders of £20 or more of eligible items, dispatched by Amazon, across any product category qualify for FREE Delivery.
FreeShipping costs are calculated and displayed before you complete your order on the Apple Online Store.

Paying

Pay in fullVisa, Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, EuroCard, American Express, UK based Maestro and Solo
Not statedApple Pay, Apple Card, PayPal, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Apple Gift card

Student discount

Not stated
None

The grades at Amazon Renewed next to those at Apple Store

Same letter, different words. Every grade works fully; the grade describes looks. The photos follow the device you picked above.

Amazon Renewed Apple Store

Premium and Excellent

Premium: Screen: No scratches; Body: No signs of cosmetic damage (scratches, dents, and more) are visible when holding the product 30 centimeters away. Battery: >90% of original battery life.
Battery 90%+Screen: no scratches
Excellent: Screen: No scratches; Body: No signs of cosmetic damage (scratches, dents, and more) are visible when holding the product 30 centimeters away. Battery: >80% of original battery life.
Battery 80%+Screen: no scratches

Grade A

You will receive a refurbished device with genuine Apple replacement parts (as needed) that has been thoroughly cleaned and inspected. Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell.
Original partsNew battery
Grade A: Almost no visible marks

AAlmost no visible marks

Good

Screen: No scratches; Body: Light scratches, barely visible when holding the product 30 centimeters away and imperceptible to touch. Battery: >80% of original battery life.
Battery 80%+Screen: no scratches

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade B.

Grade B: Light marks on the body

BLight marks on the body

Acceptable

Screen: May have a small number of shallow scratches, invisible when the screen is turned on; Body: Light scratches, clearly visible when holding the device 30 centimeters away and perceptible to touch. Battery: >80% of original battery life.
Battery 80%+

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade C.

Grade C: Visible marks on body and screen

CVisible marks on body and screen

Amazon Renewed or Apple Store?

Is Amazon Renewed or Apple Store cheaper for refurbished Apple devices?

Amazon Renewed is cheaper: its lowest refurbished iPad costs £59, against £259 at Apple Store, as of 31 October 2026. Amazon Renewed is also cheaper for iPhones (£94 against £569) and MacBooks (£229 against £1,269). Across all its devices, Amazon Renewed starts at £59 and Apple Store starts at £109. Prices come from RefurbMe's live listings and change daily.

Does Amazon Renewed or Apple Store have the longer warranty?

The warranty on refurbished Apple devices lasts 1 year at both Amazon Renewed and Apple Store, as of 31 October 2026. On returns, the figures are 30 days at Amazon Renewed and 14 days at Apple Store. Each figure is the minimum every listing at the store carries, so some listings come with more.

Does Amazon Renewed or Apple Store give longer to return a device?

Amazon Renewed gives at least 30 days to return a refurbished Apple device, against at least 14 days at Apple Store, as of 31 October 2026. On warranty, the figures are 1 year at Amazon Renewed and 1 year at Apple Store.

How do the grades at Amazon Renewed and Apple Store compare?

Amazon Renewed sells refurbished Apple devices in Premium, Excellent, Good and Acceptable; Apple Store sells Grade A. The same name can mean different things at each store, so compare each store's own wording. Every grade works fully; the grade only describes how the casing and screen look.

Does Amazon Renewed or Apple Store have more refurbished Apple devices?

Refurbished Apple devices in RefurbMe's live listings, as of 31 October 2026: 233 at Amazon Renewed, against 201 at Apple Store. By device: 103 iPads against 105, 86 iPhones against 69 and 15 MacBooks against 10. Amazon Renewed has more listings in 2 of the 4 device types both stores sell.

Is there a cheaper option than Amazon Renewed and Apple Store?

For refurbished iPads, yes: eBay Refurbished starts at £45 in RefurbMe's live listings, as of 31 October 2026, against £59 at the cheaper of Amazon Renewed and Apple Store. eBay Refurbished has 102 iPads listed. Its warranty lasts 1 year, with 30-day returns.

More matchups