Apple Store vs Back Market: which is better for refurbished Apple?

Back Market for longer returns (30 days against 14 days), cheaper iPhones (from £73 against £569) and more listings (1,141 against 201). Apple Store is not ahead on any row we can rank today.

Prices checked 31 Oct, 3:10. Sellers pay us a commission. It never changes the order. Is RefurbMe free to use?

Where Apple Store and Back Market differ

Each store's own terms. A check marks the better one where we can rank it.

Apple Store Back Market

Warranty

1 yearEligible for AppleCare+
1 year

Returns

14 days
30 days

Battery

Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell
Above 80% capacity

Accessories

Every device will come with all original accessories, cables and operating systems
All smartphones offered on Back Market are delivered with a compatible phone charger. To avoid electronic waste, our devices are delivered without earphones.

Shipping

FreeShipping costs are calculated and displayed before you complete your order on the Apple Online Store.
Not stated

Paying

Not statedApple Pay, Apple Card, PayPal, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Apple Gift card
Not statedVisa, MasterCard and Paypal

Student discount

None
YesStudents get 5% off absolutely everything on Back Market!

The grades at Apple Store next to those at Back Market

Same letter, different words. Every grade works fully; the grade describes looks. The photos follow the device you picked above.

Apple Store Back Market

Grade A

You will receive a refurbished device with genuine Apple replacement parts (as needed) that has been thoroughly cleaned and inspected. Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell.
Original partsNew battery

Premium and Excellent

Premium: Their screens and bodies have almost no signs of use; they contain only genuine manufacturer parts and batteries; and their batteries have a minimum capacity of 90%.
Battery 90%+Original parts
Excellent: The body may have very light micro-scratches that are invisible at a distance of 8 inches (a bit longer than a standard-sized pencil) or more. For items with screens, the screen will have no scratches.
Checked from 8 in awayScreen: no scratches
Grade A: Almost no visible marks

AAlmost no visible marks

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade B.

Good

The body may have light micro-scratches that are invisible at a distance of 20 inches (about an arm's length) or more. For items with screens, the screen will have no scratches.
Checked from 20 in awayScreen: no scratches
Grade B: Light marks on the body

BLight marks on the body

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade C.

Fair

The body may have a few visible scratches and dents that don't affect performance. Devices with screens may have light scratches that are slightly visible when the device is on.
Grade C: Visible marks on body and screen

CVisible marks on body and screen

Apple Store or Back Market?

Is Apple Store or Back Market cheaper for refurbished Apple devices?

Back Market is cheaper: its lowest refurbished iPhone costs £73, against £569 at Apple Store, as of 31 October 2026. Back Market is also cheaper for iPads (£53 against £259) and MacBooks (£189 against £1,269). Across all its devices, Apple Store starts at £109 and Back Market starts at £53. Prices come from RefurbMe's live listings and change daily.

Does Apple Store or Back Market have the longer warranty?

The warranty on refurbished Apple devices lasts 1 year at both Apple Store and Back Market, as of 31 October 2026. On returns, the figures are 14 days at Apple Store and 30 days at Back Market. Each figure is the minimum every listing at the store carries, so some listings come with more.

Does Apple Store or Back Market give longer to return a device?

Back Market gives at least 30 days to return a refurbished Apple device, against at least 14 days at Apple Store, as of 31 October 2026. On warranty, the figures are 1 year at Apple Store and 1 year at Back Market.

How do the grades at Apple Store and Back Market compare?

Apple Store sells refurbished Apple devices in Grade A; Back Market sells Premium, Excellent, Good and Fair. The same name can mean different things at each store, so compare each store's own wording. Every grade works fully; the grade only describes how the casing and screen look.

Does Apple Store or Back Market have more refurbished Apple devices?

Refurbished Apple devices in RefurbMe's live listings, as of 31 October 2026: 1,141 at Back Market, against 201 at Apple Store. By device: 343 iPhones against 69, 296 iPads against 105 and 331 MacBooks against 10. Back Market has more listings in 4 of the 4 device types both stores sell.

More matchups